There was no bridge between Prince Street and Bristol Bridge up until 1942 but this stretch of the floating harbour was served by two ferries:
Redcliffe Backs Ferry – c1928 – Reece Winston
Redcliffe Backs Ferry operated from 1794 until 1930.
Prior to the building of Redcliffe Bridge there had also been a Grove to Guinea Street ferry from 1882.
Redcliffe Bascule Bridge was built from 1938 before formally opening in 1942 .
George Frederick Poppleton (1910 to 1953) was appointed to the City Engineers Department in Bristol City Council probably in 1937. He was appointed Resident Engineer on the planning and construction of Redcliffe Bridge which began in 1938/39 due to his experience of bridge building especially bascule bridges.
After the War George was involved in the upkeep and maintenance of Redcliffe Bridge. Richard, his son, recalls visiting the Bridge control room and watching it being raised and lowered and going down into the ‘engine room’ and to see how it all worked.
Information provided by his sons Alan and Richard Poppleton